BON IVER

15 May 2011

[Picture of Justin Vernon, Bon Iver]I love harmonies, and I love originality and musicality in bands. BON IVER have all this and more.  In some ways they are complex, (arrangements, harmonies), in other ways they are simple (acoustic, voice, simple lyrics).  I would recommend them because they have made 2011 for me.

So let’s turn to the helpful links and things that all worked at the time of posting this here…

Once you have found out How to Pronounce Bon Iver, you can check out videos on YouTube.  I came across BON IVER through the excellent French program “A Take Away Show” doing a live and on-the-move version of  “For Emma, Forever Ago”. Here’s a link.

[Embedded Video clip from YouTube A Take Away Show Bon Iver’s For Emma]

If you watched that clip, you would have to admit that Justin is very talented indeed, I just cannot understand the reaction of the American tourists in Montmartre. Bizarre!

[Picture of Album cover of Bon Iver's For Emma, Forever Ago]I read about the band on Wikipedia:  en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bon_iver, and found out that the name means (have a) good winter in French. Although a “band”, BON IVER is really Justin Vernon and members of the audience helping fill out the harmonies he recorded!

For Emma, Forever Ago is from 2007, but it’s a new find for me.  I know BON IVER have a new album out this year — a self-titled one — and I fancy getting a hold of a copy even though it is supposed to be more “electric”, and has “members” playing saxophones and other unexpected instruments.  I’ll check it out when i can and keep you posted!

As you would reasonably expect, they have their own site: boniver.org/ and a myspace area too (myspace.com/boniver), if you want to check them out that way.

I prefer checking out customers’ reviews on sites like Amazon, check out the reviews for For Emma, Forever Ago, and listen to some of the tracks too.

§

2 Responses to “BON IVER”

  1. Delanay Says:

    Did you ever get the new album?

  2. davedevine Says:

    Hi Delaney, yes I did. I really enjoy both albums. The first one is more a solo, stripped down affair (that somehow manages not to be depressingly sad). They both are too clever and interesting to be seriously emotional for me. No tears nor tantrums, just chill out music! The only gripe I have is that some of the tuning is off ever so slightly Only The Wolves, Blindsided and Re; Stacks are in the correct pitch on Emma, I put it down to the chap making the record by himself in a log cabin. Hurts my ears though.


Leave a Reply

