HIROMI UEHARA

4 May 2010

[Picture of Hiromi Uehara]I have been listening to a lot of Hiromi Uehara at work courtesy of YouTube.

In fact a client has noticed that I have been listening to a lot of Japanese stuff, which surprised me, but when I thought about it, I can see why he’d think that as he’s seen me check out Cornelius and Miyavi. I must seem like that to him, so I suggested that Hiromi has an Irish surname (O’Hara), but he wasn’t having any of it! LOL!

[Embedded videoclip from youTube: Deep Into The Night]

The guitarist is  “Fuze” (Dave Fiuczynski) a full-time teacher at Berklee College of Music in Boston, and as a session man has played on nearly 100 albums! I am flattered that my wife thought it was me playing! he is clearly influenced by Allan Holdsworth.

[Embedded videoclip from youTube: Deep Into The Night solo piano]

Hiromi was born in 1979 and went to Berklee.  Her band is made up of Berklee folk. She’s playing with Stanley Clarke and Lenny White, and has done piano duets with Chic Corea. Check out her website: www.hiromimusic.com.

[Embedded videoclip from YoutUbe: The Tom and Jerry Show]
[Youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-HcKrd3K8_A&]

I’m sure you’ll agree that she can certainly play fast piano! She sings along and makes weird noises like Keith Jarrett — and I think she plays a bit like Jarrett and a wee bit like Oscar Peterson at times too.

[Embedded video clip from YouTube – Brain Training]

[Youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xB5LEzcGgNo&]

§

2 Responses to “HIROMI UEHARA”

  1. davedevine Says:

    I got her album, Time Control, (2007), and it is excellent! I would recommend this to anyone and everyone; it is superb. The musicianship is of a very high standard, good tunes, and quite interesting and innovative ideas.


  2. […] music for a while, listening to Vai, Holdsworth, and the jazz theme continued for summer with Hiromi Uehara and Tal Wilkenfeld — and any need for classical for Autumn, and this was met in the form of […]


Leave a Reply

